Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food Security

This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Food Security. Use this guide as your starting point. For more resources and further help, come to the Science & Agriculture Library or Ask a Librarian.

Home

Welcome to the Food Security Research Guide

This guide is intended to help you find resources for food security research and information from

  • Reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.
  • Print and electronic books
  • Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Theses and Dissertations
  • Trustworthy Internet sites and web resources

Use the tabs on the side to navigate through the pages of the guide. 

 

Definition of food security:

FAO - Food security is “a situation that exists when all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient, safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.” - 2015, The State of Food Insecurity in the World

USDA - "Access by all people at all times to enough nutritious food for an active, healthy life."

Featured Interview

Featured Sites

Lebanon Spatial

Lebanon Spatial is a data atlas launched by the Food Security Program at the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences and the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). This mapping project seeks to make data on development and food security more available, user-friendly, and intuitive for users. Lebanon Spatial supports the dissemination of information and data on food security, for easier use by the general public, policymakers, and researchers. News of the launch may be found here.

Featured Books on Food Security

Featured reports

Reference Sources

What is Reference?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic

It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

Selected Print Handbooks

Articles & Databases

Selected Food Security E-Journals

Agriculture & Food Security from 2012 to present published by BioMed Central

Agronomy for Sustainable Development from 2007 to present published by Springer

Food & Energy Security from 2012 to present published by Wiley

Food Policy from 1975 to present published by Elsevier

Food Security from 2009 to present published by Springer

Global Food Security from 2012 to present published by Elsevier

Selected Articles Related to the Arab World

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker 
OR
go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Food Security Core Databases

Find Scholarly Articles in Major Databases

Start at the University Libraries Home Page, go to Databases and select Food Security, or Multidisciplinary from the drop down menu under 'All Subjects'.  

Multidisciplinary



Open Access Databases

 
AGRIS/Caris International Information:  FAO resource for papers, data, statistics, and multimedia
FAO Catalog Online:  A multilingual, on-line index and catalogue of documents, and publications produced by FAO since 1945, books added to the library collections since 1976, and serials held in the FAO library.
PubAg: The USDA National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information (nutrition, food, animal and crop production, natural resources, sustainable agriculture, rural development, ag economics, statistics)

Books & e-Books

Find Books and eBooks at the University Libraries

I. Search the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.  

 

 

Find Open Access e-Books

Digitized texts of classic out-of-copyright books (items published before 1923, cutoff date in US copyright law).

 
Search the full text of books and download classic public domain books. Preview books in copyright domain.

 

Read Free eBooks

Open Library
The World's classic literature at your fingertips. Over 1,000,000 free ebook titles. Browse the library by subject: Food security

Atlases

Sample Books on Food Security

Sample Publications on Food Security

Reports

Internet Links

Lebanon

FAO: Lebanon 
   - Food security statistics (food security indicators)
   - Food availability, access and utilization 
   - Nutrition profile (includes a section on food security)

Featured Sites

Theses

Find Thesis in the Library

 

Go to Advanced Search & limit your search to Media Type "Thesis and/or project"

Thesis Help

Need help with thesis formatting? Consult the Resource Hub for Thesis Writers Guide

Need help with citation management and locating resources? Contact the Science & Agriculture Library

Need help with writing your thesis? Contact the Writing Center

Theses Repositories

Find full-text theses in University catalogs and repositories.

Databases

Search for theses in national Library catalogs

Search for theses in national Library catalogs:

Cite Your Sources

Why cite your sources? An overview

A great video on Vimeo from UNLV Libraries giving an overview on citing sources: "Using other people's ideas"

Tags: Summary, paraphrase, quotation, plagiarism, attribution.

Which style to use

Styles commonly used at AUB are MLA, APA and Turabian. If you are not sure which citation style you should use, ask your instructor.

Below are commonly used systems of documentation:

  • MLA, used in English and the humanities;
  • APA, used in psychology and the social sciences;
  • Chicago, used in history and some humanities; and
  • CSE, used in biology and other sciences.

For more details check out the table of content of the print copy Research and documentation in the electronic age.

Additional guidelines

If you still need help, visit Science & Agriculture Library, call ext. 2165, or e-mail sn23 @aub.edu.lb

Citation management tools

Ask a Librarian