Skip to Main Content

Reference Source: Calendars: Calendar Converters

Calendar Converter


Hijri or Islamic Calendars

The Hijri (Qamari), Jalali, and Rumi calendars are all "Hijri" calendars, in the sense that all of them begin their count of the years from the Hijra, prophet Muhammad's emigration from Mecca to Medina.

However, the first one of these Hijri calendars is a lunar calendar (each lunar year has 354.367 days) while the other two are solar calendars (each solar year has 365.2422 days).  

"The Rumi calendar (TurkishRumi takvim), a specific calendar based on the Julian calendar but starting with the year of Prophet Muhammad's emigration (Hijra) in 622 AD, was officially used by the Ottoman Empire after Tanzimat (1839) and by its successor, the Republic of Turkey until 1926."

Online Calendar Converters