LibGuides: Find Journals: Home

Peer-reviewed Journals

As part of the publication process, articles in scholarly journals are reviewed by committees of other notable scholars. Such reviewers are considered to be the writer's peers.

Finding peer-reviewed articles:

When searching for articles in a general database limit your search to peer-reviewd journals.

Journal directories will help you identify peer-reviewed journals.

See Tutorial Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals. You Tube Vanderbilt University Peabody Library. August 24, 2007. [3:11 minutes]

Journal Abbreviations

Periodical title abbreviations
RD 050.148:P445p15
Location: Reference Desk at Jafet Library

All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources

Aggregation of web resources that provide lists and access to the full title of journal abbreviations.

ticTocs
Sign up to be alerted about new journal issues tables of contents

JournalTOCS
It contains TOCs for 15,958 journals (including 1,934 Open Access journals) collected from 748 publishers.
Research News

AUB Journals

AUB Bulletin
MainGate Magazine
Produced by the Office of Communications
Office of Communication Publications
Outlook Student Newspaper
Independent student publication
Rusted Radishes
Literary and Arts Journal

Journal Impact Factor

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window A journal evaluation tool powered by ISI Web of Knowledge. It helps in identifying the most frequently cited journals. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. Availability: Ranking tables Date Coverage:1997 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Click the Analytics button at the top of the page to enter the Journal Analyzer. Click the Analytics button at the top of the page to enter the Journal Analyzer where you can compare citations from over 18,000 peer-reviewed from 5000 publishers. the Scopus Journal Analyzer enables you to compare up to 10 journals under the same subject. Or Search by Source and use Journal Analyzer with a particular title. Elesevier.1996-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Identify high impact journals using Analyze Results function in the Topic search results

Eigenfactor.org
Free tool, also included in Journal Citation Reports.
more...less...
Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and ranks journals according to:
Eigenfactor™ Score(EF): A measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year.
Article Influence™ Score(AI): a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations and comparable to Impact Factor.
Title and subject search. Interactive mapping function. The Eigenfactor is
CWTS Journal Indicators
Free tool hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University.
more...less...
A database of journal indicators including Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) and Raw Impact per Paper (RIP). Hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology.Title and subject search
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database.
more...less...
Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country. This indicator shows the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus database from 1996.
Where Should I Publish ?

Find Journals: Home

Peer-reviewed Journals

Journal Abbreviations

Table of Contents.innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }

AUB Journals

Journal Impact Factor

Table of Contents