Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find Resources by Type: Images

Images in the Library

Use 'Advanced Search' in the Library Catalog to find posters, photos and chiefly illustrated books.

For posters, postcards, etc.. limit your search to 'Material type' Posters, Photographs or Graphic Materials 

For illustrated books combine your search term/s with 'Pictorial Works' 
e.g. Beirut and Pictorial works

Search Engines

Museums

British Museum Images: browse by collections

Louvre Museum: Digital collections

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Réunion des Musées Nationaux: photographs of works of art collected in the national and regional museums of France

Smithsonian Institution: images, video and other resources from the Smithsonian’s museums, archives and libraries.

More...   

Middle East Collections

E.W. Blatchford Photograph Collection: 801 photographs of the late 19th century Middle East. 

Moore Photograph Collection: 106 black and white photos of AUB campus, Lebanon and the region.

Travelers in the Middle East Archive: Photos on Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth century.

More...

Copyright & Fair Use

Copyright Laws and Restrictions from AUB Universty Libraries

 

Plagiarism from ACC at AUB
   - Copyright
   - Copyright and Fair Use
   - Selected Links

 

Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines for Educators: illustrations and phtographs

Databases

ARTstor  

JSTOR ALL : limit search to results with images  

Oxford Art Online  

Collections on the Internet

The Getty Research Institute

" Materials range from the 15th century to the present and include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper."

Internet Archive

"Digital Library of Free Books, Movies, Music & Wayback Machine"

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs

Over 1.2 million images, although some only in thumbnail. Historic photos, architectural drawings, posters, prints, drawings, cartoons, and more.