LibGuides: E-Reference: Where to publish?

Academic Publishing

Harzing.com
Links to resources to assist with academic publishing and the assessment of research and journal quality, as well as software to conduct citation analysis.

Elements that help in identifying a scholarly journal for your publication include:

peer review process
impact factor
editorial board
circulation record
article acceptance rate
coverage by an abstracting and indexing service

This type of information is found in Journal Directories, Impact Factor Reports and Journal Ranking Lists.

How To Choose the Right Journal for Your Manuscript
Wiley-Blackwell Authors Services
General guidance on the submission of manuscripts as well as other information of interest to journal authors.
Beall’s List
List of questionable, scholarly open-access publishers

Research Grants

Directory of research grants , 32nd ed. (2008)
Call Number: R 001.44:D598d:2008 (v.1-v.2)
ISBN: 9781434384485
Foundation Center
Maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants.
Grant and Foundation Web Resources
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals , 4th ed. (2000) by Lawrence F. Locke, Waneen Wyrick Spirduso, Stephen J. Silverman
Call Number: J 001.44:L814p4
ISBN: 0761917071
The research funding guidebook: getting it, managing it, & renewing it (c1998) by Joanne B. Ries, Carl G. Leukefeld
Call Number: J 658.152:R559r
ISBN: 0761902317

Journal Impact Factor

CWTS Journal Indicators
Free tool hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University.
more...less...
A database of journal indicators including Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) and Raw Impact per Paper (RIP). Hosted by the Centre for Science and Technology.Title and subject search

Eigenfactor.org
Free tool, also included in Journal Citation Reports.
more...less...
Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and ranks journals according to:
Eigenfactor™ Score(EF): A measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year.
Article Influence™ Score(AI): a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations and comparable to Impact Factor.
Title and subject search. Interactive mapping function. The Eigenfactor is

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window JCR provides quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorising, and comparing journals.ISI Web of Knowledge.

Journal Evaluation Services (chart)
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database.
more...less...
Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country. This indicator shows the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus database from 1996.

Scopus This link opens in a new window Click the Analytics button at the top of the page to enter the Journal Analyzer. Click the Analytics button at the top of the page to enter the Journal Analyzer where you can compare citations from over 18,000 peer-reviewed from 5000 publishers. the Scopus Journal Analyzer enables you to compare up to 10 journals under the same subject. Or Search by Source and use Journal Analyzer with a particular title. Elesevier.1996-

Scopus Journal analyzer Tutorial

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Identify high impact journals using Analyze Results function in the Topic search results

Journal Directories

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Business an education sections are on subscrption.
more...less...
Provides data on acceptance rates and review time as well as the submission processes for best ranked journals. The library subscibes to business an education sections.
Magazines for libraries
Reviews core journals in a subject area and gives scope, address, circulation, audience as well as indexing information
J 050.25:M189L
Open Access Journals & Publishing
Overview of Open Access in the Arab States

UlrichsWeb (Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database indexing around 250,000 serials including journals published worldwide. The directory covers all subjects and includes regular and irregular publications which are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. It gives users access to serials information beyond the title level, with links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text, and document delivery. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current

Journal Ranking Lists

ERA Journal Ranked List
Journal Quality Lists
From Harzing.com
Journals Ranked by Impact
As listed by SCI-BYTES from July 2000 to present - University of Delaware Library
Journal-Ranking.com
more...less...
This source ranks journals that are indexed by ISI's Science Citation Index. The website allows you to customize your ranking and is interactive
Science Gateway
more...less...
High Impact Journals by discipline, also includes:
Research country impact fator
Most Cited Authors
Most Cited Institutions
Top Ten Lists
From Eigenfactor.org
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
more...less...
Can help you find journals publishing in your area by comparing your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of articles in MEDLINE and finding the best matching articles, journals, or authors.
ERIH 'initial' lists
Included in Scopus.

Guide Books

Getting published: a guide for lecturers and researchers. 2003 by Jerry Wellington
Call Number: J 070.52:W452g
Publish or perish--the educator's imperative: strategies for writing effectively for your profession and your school,.2002 by Glatthorn, Allan A.
Call Number: J 808.02:G549p
Getting your paper noticed
Video from Elsevier
Write to the top!: how to become a prolific academic , 1st ed. (2007) by Johnson, W. Brad
Call Number: J 808.042:J711w
Writing in the academy: reputation, education and knowledge (2007, c2002) by Ken Hyland
Call Number: J 808.042:H996w

Open Access publishing

Open Access is free online access to the full text of research articles for anyone, webwide.

Publishing in an open access journal may lead to:

Increased visibility, exposure, usage & impact of research.
Readership expanded beyond subscribers to journals in which the research is published.
Research impact has been typically measured by tools such as ISI Web of Science and Journal Citation Reports. Tools like Google Scholar measure impact of a wider range of papers.

Scholars can publish in one of the 3000+ OA journals DOAJ MORE

The Effect of Open Access and Downloads ('hits') on Citation Impact: A Bibliography of Studies

The Open Access Citation Advantage: Studies and Results to Date

Open Access Publishing Opportunities

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window Provides free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology. All journals are accessible from volume one, issue one. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Copernicus open-access journals
Creative Commons
Critical Analysis of Scholarly Open Access Publishing
Directory of Open Access Journals
eScholarship
Hindawi Publishing
AUB is a member, go to Article Processing Charges page of each journal.
more...less...
49 full open access STM journals
Ivyspring International Publisher
Libertas Academica Ltd
Medknow Publications
more...less...
MedKnow publishes over 135 print and online journals in medical sciences
National Institute of Health
more...less...
A federal agency created for supporting scholarly medical research.
National Science Foundation
more...less...
A federal organization responsible for providing funding for science and engineering research
Open Source Science Project
Overview of Open Access in the Arab States
Public Library of Science
Publishers with Paid Options for Open Access
SAGE Open
Scholarly Electronic Publishing Initiatives: Electronic Publishing Projects
Listing from UC Davis University Libray
Scholarly Exchange
Scholarly Society Project
Sherpa/Juliet
JULIET provides summaries of funding agencies’ grant
conditions on self-archiving on research publications and
data.
Sherpa/RoMeo
RoMEO summarizes publishers’ conditions and categorizes publishers by colours, indicating level of
author rights.
SPARC Partners
Springer Open Choice
Transforming Scholarly Publishing through Open Access: A Bibliography
United States National Academy of Sciences
Quality Open Access Market
Libraries are asked to complete Base Score Cards, measuring the transparancy of a journal's web site with respect to editorial board, peer review, governance and workflow. Authors are asked to share their experience with a journal they published in via Valuation Score Cards. The market place also gives the publication fees for a journnal, including the price effects of memberships, licences and offseting deals.
more...less...
QOAM is a market place for scientific and scholarly journals which publish articles in open access. Quality scoring of the journals in QOAM is based on academic crowd sourcing; price information includes institutional licensed pricing.

E-Reference: Where to publish?

Academic Publishing.outerbox {PADDING-BOTTOM: 3px; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; PADDING-TOP: 3px} .headerbox H2{FONT: small-caps 14px Arial Rounded MT Bold;}