The guide explores Mamluk architecture in Lebanon, primarily in cities like Tripoli and Beirut and highlights key structures such as mosques, madrassahs, khans, and hammams. Additionally, the guide provides lists of books, articles, and more.
Use the following databases to find articles on Mamluk architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowPublished by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. It also includes publications of professional associations, plus state and regional periodicals.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1800s to present
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1665 to present
E-Marefa = معرفةThis link opens in a new windowArabic language database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. The information is published by universities, research centers, central banks, scientific associations and regional organizations. Content includes articles, theses, dissertations, reports, and statistics. Subjects covered comprise: humanities, social sciences, medicine, business, engineering, and sciences.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1991 to present
Mahamid, H. (2009). Mosques as higher educational institutions in mamluk syria. Journal of Islamic Studies (Oxford, England), 20(2), 188-212. https://doi.org/10.1093/jis/etp002
Mohareb, N., Alsalloum, A., & Webb, N. (2023). A morphological analysis of historic buildings entries using affordable photogrammetry techniques: Old tripoli, lebanon. Digital Applications in Archaeology and Cultural Heritage, 28, e00261. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.daach.2023.e00261
أبو طاحون، إبراهيم محمد إبراهيم. (2007). المنابر المملوكية في مدينة طرابلس الشام. المؤتمر العالمي الأول للعمارة والفنون الإسلامية الماضي والحاضر والمستقبل، القاهرة: رابطة الجامعات الإسلامية، 115 - 126.
علي، محمد محمد مرسي. (2017). تأثيرات إيرانية وتركية على عمارة مدينة طرابلس الشام في العصر المملوكي. مجلة العمارة والفنون والعلوم الإنسانية، ع7 ، 440 - 466.
