Skip to main content

Food Security: Home

This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Food Security. Use this guide as your starting point. For more resources and further help, come to the Science & Agriculture Library or Ask a Librarian.

Home

Welcome to the Food Security Research Guide

This guide is intended to help you find resources for food security research and information from

  • Reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.
  • Print and electronic books
  • Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Theses and Dissertations
  • Trustworthy Internet sites and web resources

Use the tabs on the side to navigate through the pages of the guide. 

 

Definition of food security:

FAO - Food security is “a situation that exists when all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient, safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.” - 2015, The State of Food Insecurity in the World

USDA - "Access by all people at all times to enough nutritious food for an active, healthy life."

Featured Site

Lebanon Spatial

Lebanon Spatial is a data atlas launched by the Food Security Program at the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences and the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). This mapping project seeks to make data on development and food security more available, user-friendly, and intuitive for users. Lebanon Spatial supports the dissemination of information and data on food security, for easier use by the general public, policymakers, and researchers. News of the launch may be found here.

Featured Books on Food Security

Featured report

Need help?

Salpy Nalbandian's picture
Salpy Nalbandian
Contact:
Ext. 2165

Reference Sources

What is Reference?

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic

It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.

Google and Wikipedia could be good places to start your search for general and initial ideas about your topic. But you will always have to use Library resources to get more credible information.

Selected Print Handbooks

Articles

Selected Food Security E-Journals

Global Food Security from 2012 to present published by Elsevier

Food Security from 2009 to present published by Springer

Agriculture & Food Security from 2012 to present published by BioMed Central

Food & Energy Security from 2012 to present published by Wiley

Food Policy from 1975 to present published by Elsevier

Find Full-text for Citation

If you have the citation of an article, use Citation Linker 
OR
go to Journal Finder and type the journal name to see if the library has the full-text of the article.

Need Help?

Find Scholarly Articles in Major Databases

Start at the University Libraries Home Page, go to Databases and select Food Security, or Multidisciplinary from the drop down menu under 'All Subjects'.  

Food Security Core Databases

Open Access Databases

 
AGRIS/Caris International Information:  FAO resource for papers, data, statistics, and multimedia
FAO Catalog Online:  A multilingual, on-line index and catalogue of documents, and publications produced by FAO since 1945, books added to the library collections since 1976, and serials held in the FAO library.
PubAg: The USDA National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information (nutrition, food, animal and crop production, natural resources, sustainable agriculture, rural development, ag economics, statistics)

Featured articles

Multidisciplinary



Reports

Books

Sample Books on Food Security

Find Books and eBooks at the University Libraries

I. Search the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.  

 

 

Find Open Access e-Books

Digitized texts of classic out-of-copyright books (items published before 1923, cutoff date in US copyright law).

 
Search the full text of books and download classic public domain books. Preview books in copyright domain.

 

Read Free eBooks

Open Library
The World's classic literature at your fingertips. Over 1,000,000 free ebook titles. Browse the library by subject: Food security

Sample Publications on Food Security

Internet Links

Lebanon

FAO: Lebanon 
   - Food security statistics (food security indicators)
   - Food availability, access and utilization 
   - Nutrition profile (includes a section on food security)

Internet Search

 

Featured Sites

Theses

Find Thesis in the Library

 

Go to Advanced Search & limit your search to Media Type "Thesis and/or project"

Thesis Help

Need help with thesis formatting? Contact the ASC Department

Need help with citation management and locating resources? Contact the Science & Agriculture Library

Need help with writing your thesis? Contact the Writing Center

Databases

Search for theses in national Library catalogs

Search for theses in national Library catalogs:

Theses Repositories

Find full-text theses in University catalogs and repositories.

Cite Your Sources

Cite Now

EasyBib: the bibliography maker. MLA Style.
 

Other Automatic Citation Generators

Plan your Assignment

Use the Assignment Calculator from Tulane University to manage your time and your research project. Fill out the form to get a list of steps and deadlines to follow in order to write a successful research paper.

Looking for writing advice!!!

Visit the Writing Center in West Hall (Room 336), call extension 3157 or  
email: writing@aub.edu.lb 

Which Style to Use

Styles commonly used at AUB are MLA, APA and Turabian. If you are not sure which citation style you should use, ask your instructor.

Research & Documentation Online by Diana Hacker  describes commonly used systems of documentation:

  • MLA, used in English and the humanities;
  • APA, used in psychology and the social sciences;
  • Chicago, used in history and some humanities; and
  • CSE, used in biology and other sciences.

For more details check out the table of content of the print copy Research and documentation in the electronic age.

Citation Management Tools

RefWorks   RefWorks is a web-based citation  management tool.

 
                             + With RefWorks you can

                             + Access and use RefWorks  

To learn more about each feature in RefWorks check guides and YouTube videos.


 

  EndNote Web comes as part of the Thomson ISI Web of Knowledge database subscription.

 

                             + With EndNote Web you can

To learn more check EndNote Web: Quick Reference guide and training materials.

For More

Still Need Help!!!

  ASK A LIBRARIANAsk a Librarian
         Call ext: 2165
         Email: sn23@aub.edu.lb

Avoiding Plagiarism

Citing your sources is an important step in writing and submitting your research paper. It gives credit to the author and work you are referring to. Failing to do so will result in Plagiarism
                             
 
 - What is plagiarism?
 -
Types of plagiarism
 - Preventing plagiarism
 - Copyright & Fair Use

Ask a Librarian

 

 


Walk-in

 

 

Reference Desk at Jafet Libray: Opening hours


E-mail


 

Jafet Library: jftref@aub.edu.lb

Archives & Special Collections: asc@aub.edu.lb

Business Information Specialist: sg32@aub.edu.lb

Engineering & Architecture: englib@aub.edu.lb

Science & Agriculturescilib@aub.edu.lb

Saab Medical Library:sml@aub.edu.lb


Call

 

 

Jafet Library 2620/1, 2990, 2629

Archives & Special Collections 2610, 2635

Business Information Specialist 2659

Engineering & Architecture Library 2630-33

Science & Agriculture Library 2165, 2640/1

Saab  Medical Library 5900/11

Subject Librarian

 

 

For advanced help find your Subject Librarian , or contact us at libinfo@aub.edu.lb, 2629