This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of History and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.
a companion to the Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as أمهات الكتب العربية المطبوعة من المكتبة البريطانية :a digital library of pre-20th century Arabic printed books. This historical collection includes a wide range of works that were published from the 15th to 19th centuries. In addition to books printed in Arabic script, the collection includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European works.
Date Coverage: 1475-1900
Topics covered include: Islamic literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, religion, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature.
ACLS Humanities E-BookThis link opens in a new windowA digital collection of over 5,400 high quality e-books in the humanities and related social sciences, including art, film & media studies, history, literature, philosophy, religion, and women studies. These titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
Date Coverage: Varies
Brill E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic books from Brill focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies.
Date Coverage: Complete collection
Cambridge Histories onlineThis link opens in a new windowAn e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts.
Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books published by Oxford University Press. The collection brings together the world’s leading scholar to discuss research and latest thinking on a range of major topics. It contains in-depth, high level scholarly review articles and covers a wide range of subject areas such as archaeology, classical studies, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, and more.
Date Coverage: 2012 to present
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users )This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines.
Date Coverage: Current
A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam.
The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.