LibGuides: History: Archival Collections

Archives and Special Collections in the Library

Search the Catalog

To find primary sources in the Library catalog search under your subject"-- History -- Sources

The Library holds a very good collection of primary sources in the Archives and Special Collections. Visit ASC department or search the Library Catalog , use Advanced Search and limit your search by Location: Jafet Archives and Special Collections.

Historical Books

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic database for 19th-century research and studies. The index provides records for million of documents from books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archival collections. Collections indexed include: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals; and Palmer's Index to the Times Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1770-1931 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL

Search Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War.
Search Archive Finder a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window The collection captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. It covers a wide range of subjects including history, geography, arts, literature, law, science, medicine, philosophy, religion and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1700s

Selected list of Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers

Times Digital Archive, The (1785-1985) This link opens in a new window Historical (1785-1985) Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. 1985-current search LexisNexis Academic.
New York Times with Index, The (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window The Historical New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) offers full-page-images and article images dating back to 1851. The full page image allows users to view the information in context as originally published. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1851-2019 Note: Use LexisNexis database for issues published after 2009
Times Digital Archive, The (1785-1985) This link opens in a new window Full-text historical archive of the Times (London) newspaper as published from 1785, and covering all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, editorials, advertisements and illustrations/ photos. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1785-1985 Note: Use LexisNexis database for issues published after 1985
Wall Street Journal, The (1889 - 2011) This link opens in a new window Digital archive of the Wall Street Journal providing access to full-text and full-image articles from the first issue in 1889 through 2002. It includes editorials, analyses, controversial opinions, charts, stock tables, graphics, advertisement and illustrations. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1889 - 2011 Note: For issues published after 1999, use ProQuest Central database.
Washington Post, The (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window Digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper providing access to full text from the first issue in 1889 through 1998. It includes editorials, analyses, controversial opinions, charts, stock tables, advertisement, graphics and illustrations. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1877-2007 Note: For issues published after 2000, use LexisNexis or ProQuest Central databases.

Historical Journals

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window Digital archive of periodicals tracing the development of the periodical press in Britain from 17th century to the Victorian 'age of periodicals'. It consists of over 460 periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1681-1939
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic database for 19th-century research and studies. The index provides records for million of documents from books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archival collections. Collections indexed include: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals; and Palmer's Index to the Times Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1770-1931 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window The collection captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. It covers a wide range of subjects including history, geography, arts, literature, law, science, medicine, philosophy, religion and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1700s
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window An electronic index to articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. PIO covers a broad range of subjects including anthropology, architecture, arts, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and much more. The collection provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1665-2006
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window An archive of hundred of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It contains periodicals from the 17th to early 20th centuries. The periodical archive is international in scope and spread across a wide variety of subject areas including architecture, archaeology, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, religion, and women's studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1813-2002

History: Archival Collections

Archives and Special Collections in the Library

Historical Books

Selected list of Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers.innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }

Historical Journals

Historical Newspapers