LibGuides: Find Patents: Find Patents in Databases

Libary Databases

LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window Use 'LexisNexis: US Legal - Patents' to locate the full text of U.S. Patents from 1790 to present. View patent drawings, if available, by selecting the link "Get Drawing Sheet..." at the top of the page. You can get a PDF copy of a patent by entering the patent number into the www.pat2pdf.org utility.

Patent Scope (index) 1978-
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Search Service enables users search fulltext of over 1.6 million published international patent applications.
Patents Databases in Different Countries
WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections
SciFinder Scholar
more...less...
Note: For 1st time users, a registration is required, at: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=72286060-86F3-5055-7553-F82B188D3419.
READ for additional information.
Scirus
is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. It searches and provides access to all kinds of scientific information including patents.

Scopus This link opens in a new window Patents tabPatent results are provided via Scirus. There are 23 million patent records in Scopus, derived from five patent offices:1.World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)2.European Patent Office3.US Patent Office4.Japanese Patent Office5.UK Intellectual Property Office

Free Online

Canadian Patents Database
Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) - 75 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,000,000 patent documents.
Espa@cenet European Patent Information1970-
The European Patent Office provides a free database to search patent documents from all over the world from 1836 to the present. Provides resources and help for searching patents..
FreePatentsOnline1976-
James Ryley a former patent searcher started this site & financed it. It provides patent research and citation tools, RSS feeds and Document delivery.
Google Patents 1790-
With Google Patent Search, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you.
more...less...
Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of United States patents. To search by criteria like patent number and inventor use Advanced Search.
Invention Dimension
The Lemelson-MIT Awards honor both established and rising inventors.
Patents.com - your site for all things related to Patents
Rob Monster and Paul Ratcliffe are the founders. It is a source for patent data and analytic tools and a hosted community platform enabling users to connect to generate business opportunities, including the licensing and sale of intellectual property.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) 1790-
Is the Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. Search for patentsand trademarks, invention and register or update new ones.
more...less...
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) database includes full-page images beginning with the first U.S. patent issued in 1790. Issued patents starting from 1976 and patent applications are fully searchable. Patents issued between 1790 and 1975 are only available as TIFF images and are only searchable by the patent number or current U.S. classification

Find Patents: Find Patents in Databases

Libary Databases

Free Online.innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }

Free Online