Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to ASC Collections: Audiovisuals

Audiovisuals

Panoramic view of the Syrian Protestant College pre 1920

The audiovisual collection comprises more than 1,400 audiovisuals recorded between the middle of the 20th century and the present. Items cover AUB activities, conferences, and lectures. The collection also includes AUB documentaries and oral history interviews with AUB community and neighbors as well as Lebanese and Arab leaders. Also available are interviews of the POHA project, which includes one thousand hours of testimonies with first-generation Palestinians and their communities in Lebanon.

AUB Documentary Films

Few more films are available onsite.

Oral History

Oral  History 
 

The AUB’s 150th Anniversary Oral History Collection is a set of 20 oral history interviews conducted by Dr. Maria Abunnasr with members of the AUB community to safe keep AUB’s institutional memory. The interviews cover several decades from the 1950s to 2016, providing an overview of the life and memories of the interviewees at AUB: as students, administrators or faculty; touching upon the Lebanese civil war and its aftermath. (AUB History, Liberal Arts Education, Lebanese Civil War, Oral History)

The collection consists of 54 interviews with prominent public Arab figures to document the political, educational, social, cultural life in Lebanon and the Middle East during late 1960 and early 1970s. The interviews yielded historical information that would otherwise have gone unrecorded from prominent persons of diverse backgrounds. (Oral history, Community development, Political activists, Higher Education, Nationalism

The collection consists of 63 interviews with a group of Ras Beirutis, from different educational backgrounds and social statuses all known as the ‘original’ families of Ras Beirut. Open-ended interviews were conducted by Dr. Maria Abunnasr supported by Dr. Cynthia Minty, and Diana Richani, in the summer of 2014. The participants list includes men and women over the age of seventy; individuals of this age group would have entered adulthood before the Lebanese Civil War and lived in Ras Beirut during its heyday. (Oral history, Memory, social aspects, sociology, cultural interaction, Ras Beirut, Urbanism)

Around 13 oral history interviews were conducted by Dr. Betty Anderson, Professor of Middle Eastern History at Boston University, as background research for Anderson’s book: The American University of Beirut: Arab Nationalism and Liberal Education (2011). The interviews focused on the interviewees’ social and educational backgrounds prior to their service to AUB, their memories of service at AUB, with a focus on the student movements during the 1960s and 70s. (AUB History, Student Activism, Civil War, Modern History of Middle East, Oral History)

The Palestinian Oral History Archives (POHA) project goes back to the mid-1990s when the Nakba Archive and the Arab Resource Center for Popular Arts (Al-JANA) conducted oral history interviews with members of the Palestinian refugee community in Lebanon. Efforts of the two organizations resulted in the creation of over eight hundred videos and/or audio testimonies that were consolidated into one collection. The project to digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access to the collection was accomplished in collaboration between the AUB Libraries, the Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs (IFI), the Nakba Archive, and the Arab Resource Center for Popular Arts (AL-JANA). 

The POHA collection is organized into four subsections: 1. "Uprooting";  2. "Folktales"; 3. "Ayn al-Hilwat"; 4. "Biographies"

Audio recordings

 

 

The sound recording collection comprises a collection of audios that cover AUB events like annual and memorial ceremonies, lectures, concerts, etc. that took place mostly on AUB campus starting the second half of the 20th century.

 

To check Archives and Special Collections Department sound recording collection kindly use Library catalog, advanced search use * for any field  then limit location Jafet Archives and Special Collections. and media type by sound recording.

 

Copyright Statement

[Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]

All digitized texts and images in the AUB Libraries’ collections are for the personal, not-for-profit use of students, scholars, and the public. Any such use must name "The American University of Beirut Libraries” as the original source for the material. All texts and images are subject to copyright laws and, except where noted otherwise, are the property of the University Libraries. Commercial use, print or electronic re-publication of text or images (including reposting on the web an integral text or image) is strictly prohibited without prior written permission from the University Libraries. Reproduction Service Fee information is available on our website.

For Further Information, please contact: