Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to ASC Collections: Services

Forms

Find below the form you wish to fill:

Copyright Statement

All digitized texts and images in the AUB Libraries’ collections are for the personal, not-for-profit use of students, scholars, and the public. Any such use must name "The American University of Beirut Libraries” as the original source for the material. All texts and images are subject to copyright laws and, except where noted otherwise, are the property of the University Libraries. Commercial use, print or electronic re-publication of text or images (including reposting on the web an integral text or image) is strictly prohibited without prior written permission from the University Libraries. Reproduction Service Fee information is available on our website.

For Further Information, please contact:

Reading Room Rules

Rules:  

  • A valid AUB ID-card is required from AUB Community, while a library membership card is necessary fro external researchers (for details of obtaining a membership card check External Borrower Categories).

  • Whereas no appointment is obligatory, researchers planning to make extensive use of collections are encouraged to email the Department with their inquiry to ensure the availability of resources: asc@aub.edu.lb

  • Users are allowed to place a hold on specific Archives and Special Collections items for up to two days. The items will be kept on hold within the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room.

  • Only limited amount of material may be used at any given time. Researchers may be required to return materials before additional items are released to them.

  • Archival material must be returned to staff in charge before you leave the Reading Room for any reason, and items may not be transferred from one researcher to another.

Handling Instructions:

Due to the risk of inadvertent damage to valuable materials, we require patrons to abide by the following additional regulations (we appreciate your cooperation and understanding):

  • ASC materials must remain on the table during use and be treated with extreme care: please do not lean or place anything on top of items; items may not be traced or marked, defaced, altered, or or folded a new. (Researchers who mishandle material maybe denied access to our holdings).

  • When consulting documents, ink pens must be put away. Patrons must use pencils (or laptops) if they wish to take notes.

  • The use of cell phones (by permission), individual scanners, tape recorders isnot permitted

  • Smoking, eating and drinking are prohibited.

Office Hours

  • Winter hours are Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
  • Summer hours are Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
  • Records will not be retrieved after 3:30 p.m. during winter months (after 2:30 p.m. during the summer).

Contact us

For Inquiries, permissions, and research consultations please email us at: asc@aub.edu.lb

You may also contact the Associate University Librarian Samar Mikati sm46@aub.edu.lb

or at tel: 961 1 350000 ext: 2609/2610/2611/2613

Our Team

Mikati-Kaissi, Samar Associate University Librarian for Archives and Special Collections  sm46@aub.edu.lb

Abdallah, Iman Archives and Special Collections Assistant Librarian ia21@aub.edu.lb

Dada, Shaden Special Collections and Cataloging Assistant sd74@aub.edu.lb

Farhat, Hiba Special Collections and Cataloging Assistant hf42@aub.edu.lb

Kobeissi, Mervat Photo and Visual Resources Assistant mk146@aub.edu.lb

Nouh, Dalia Special Collections Assistant dn10@aub.edu.lb

Younes, Yasmine Special Collections and Cataloging Assistant yy05@aub.edu.lb