Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manuscripts and Rare Books
Map Palestine ou la Terre Sainte...1767
Archives and Special Collection
Anissa Rawda Najjar Collection
The American University of Beirut Archives and Special Collections Department (ASC) collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to the University’s archival materials and to unique or rare primary resources that document the history and culture of AUB, Lebanon, the Arab World and the region at large. Currently, ASC Collections comprise the following documents and formats:
University Archives: The AUB Archives preserves the institutional memory of the University through the collection of University official records and related historical documents from the time of its founding as the Syrian Protestant College (SPC) in 1866, through 1920 when it acquired its current name: the American University of Beirut, until the present. More
Special Collections (in various formats)
Audiovisuals: The collection cover activities related to AUB documentaries, lectures, AUB ceremonies, and oral history interviews with Arab and Lebanese leaders, educators, AUB community, and neighbors, as well as interviews with first-generation Palestinian refugees (POHA).
Maps: Our Map Collection comprises 2,000 sheets of various countries around the world with a strong focus on Lebanon and the Levant.
Rare Books and Manuscripts: The University Libraries own a number of Arabic books from early print presses in the region (e.g. Matba'at Bulaq, Matba'at Deir al Qiddis Mar Yuhanna al Sayigh; American Mission Press, etc.), as well as 1,800 manuscripts mainly Arabic manuscripts that cover different topics like astronomy, religion, sciences, etc.
Posters: The collection of around 5000 posters covers different topics and events in Lebanon and the region, starting from the mid-20th century. In addition to posters of AUB activities, the highlights of this collection are posters of Arab cinema, Lebanese and Palestinian political factions, as well as posters of fine arts exhibits.
Photographs and Postcards: The collections are diverse in subjects and formats. The photographs and postcards portray aspects of the history, politics, culture, and society of AUB, Lebanon, and the region. Dates range ca. 1880 - present.
Periodicals: The collection includes journals, newspapers, and magazines published in the Arab world starting late 19th century. The highlights are Arab Comics Collection, journals published and/or edited by women, AUB students' magazines, and administration's publications.
Theses and Dissertations: The AUB Libraries theses and dissertations collection counts so far around 12, 000 titles. The collection dates range from 1906 to the present; the oldest thesis in our holdings is titled: "Petra Historical and Descriptive" by Scott, Arthur Pearson (1906).
Services and Contacts
ASC Winter hours are Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.;
Summer hours are Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
For Inquiries, copying permissions, and research consultations email us at
For copies of some of our unique holdings, please email the above form to email@example.com
All digitized texts and images in the AUB Libraries’ collections are for the personal, not-for-profit use of students, scholars, and the public. Any such use must name "The American University of Beirut Libraries” as the original source for the material. All texts and images are subject to copyright laws and, except where noted otherwise, are the property of the University Libraries. Commercial use, print or electronic re-publication of text or images (including reposting on the web an integral text or image) is strictly prohibited without prior written permission from the University Libraries. Reproduction Service Fee information is available on our website.
For Further Information, please contact: