Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HathiTrust Guide: View / Download

This is a quick guide for students and faculty members who are interested in searching the HathiTrust digital library, building their own collections, as well as viewing and downloading PDFs.

Anyone may search HathiTrust; view the full text of books and other materials in the public domain; and download individual pages of works in the public domain.

Only AUB users with active username and password are able to download full PDFs of public domain and open access items.

To Log-in to HathiTrust

  • Go to HathiTrust home page
  • Click on the yellow LOG-IN button at the top right side of the page
  • Choose 'American University of Beirut' from the drop down menu
  • Click Continue
  • Sign-in using your AUBNet Account (username and password)
  • HathiTrust includes both public domain and in-copyright works.
  • As of January 2015, over 37% of the volumes in HathiTrust Digital Library are in the public domain.
  • The term "Full View" in HathiTrust designated items available for full-text viewing and downloading.

 

 


 

Full Text Viewing

Anyone may view and read the full text of books and other materials in the public domain.
HathiTrust provides multiple ways to view books in “Full View” including flipping, one page at a time, scrolling, thumbnail views, or plain text views. Please note that scrolling is the default option.
For more details click here.

  • HathiTrust includes both public domain and in-copyright works.
  • As of January 2015, over 37% of the volumes in HathiTrust Digital Library are in the public domain.
  • The term "Full View" in HathiTrust designated items available for full-text viewing and downloading.

              

Downloading

For downloading first click on "Full view" then go to the left-hand-side of the screen and scroll to Get This Book.
HathiTrust allows two types of downloads      1. Single Page        2.  Entire Book

To Download a Single Page

  • Click on Download this page (PDF)
  • The page will open in a new window
  • Use the PDF menu to save or print

To Download an Entire Book

  • Click on Download whole book (PDF)
  • You will be prompt to log-in using your AUBNet Account (username and password)
  • Wait for the PDF to build-up
  • Click on Download PDF
           

 


Tutorial prepared by Amelia Gayle Gorgas - University of Alabama Libraries

Downloaded PDFs are images and cannot be copied. To Copy text from HathiTrust volumes follow these steps:

  • Select an item with Full View option
  • Click on Full View
  • Navigate to the desired page
  • Select the Plain Text view option on the left-side of the desired page
  • Copy text