TIP: When researching industry information, it is helpful to find the NAICS or SIC code for that industry, though all the industry databases also allow a keyword search. Many databases use NAICS or SIC codes for searching purposes.
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also contains supply sections for ingredients and packaging.
Economist, The (first-time users should click on "more" to create an account)This link opens in a new windowOffers insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. It maintains a searchable online archive that dates back to June 1997. In addition to articles, the online version offers a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and multimedia programs.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1997 to present
Note: To view all the issues, click on Print edition on the right side.
Please follow the below link to create an account using your AUB email:
https://myaccount.economist.com/s/login/SelfRegister
Financial Times (first-time users should click on "more" to create an account)This link opens in a new windowFinancial Times provides essential business, finance, economic and political news, as well as comments, data and analysis from the Financial Times on FT.com.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 2005 to present
Please follow the below link to create an account using your AUB email:
https://www.ft.com/AUB
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowLexis-Nexis Academic provides full-text and citation access to information in news, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. Research areas cover top news topics; foreign language news sources; company and industry news; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information.
Availability: Full-text
Coverage: 1975 to present
The vast majority of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form.
Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information.
Availability: Full-text
Coverage: 1975 to present
Wall Street Journal, The (first-time users must create an account using their AUB email while on-campus)This link opens in a new windowAvailability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 2010 to present
Note: Users of the American University of Beirut have a 90-day expiration cookie placed on their account. This means that if you do not click on the link located in the Libraries’ page within 90 days, you will lose access to the Wall Street Journal. This process was put into place, by WSJ, not only to ensure that legitimate and current students and professors are able to use the site license but also when students leave AUB, their access will automatically drop off as well.
For issues published before 2010, use the following databases:
- ProQuest Central (1998-2010)
- Wall Street Journal – Historical (1889-1998)
Access expires after 1 year, to regain access please renew your subscription on-campus via the below link:
https://ezproxy.aub.edu.lb/login?url=https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/AUBDPCZF2DG
FlipsterThis link opens in a new windowA Digital Magazine Platform, it provides access to the digital copy of a selection of magazines including: The Atlantic, The Banker, Bloomberg, Forbes, Fortune, Biblical Archaeology Review, Bloomberg Markets, The New Yorker, Newsweek Global, Christian Science Monitor Weekly, The Nation, and The New Republic.
Availability Full-text.
Coverage: Varies
Disseminates full-text news announcements from thousands of companies and organizations worldwide to news media, financial markets, disclosure systems, investors, information web sites, databases and other audiences.
A leading source of regional news and intelligence, serving millions of professionals from the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and rest of MENA. The website has both English and Arabic versions.
is a financial news and information website, operated by CNN. The website was originally formed as a joint venture between CNN.com and Time Warner's Fortune and Money magazines.
