Islamic Studies

This comprehensive reference work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. it provides information about dynasties, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world.

The Dictionary of Islamic Architecture provides the fullest range of artistic, technical, archaeological, cultural and biographical data for the entire geographical and chronological spread of Islamic architecture - from West Africa through the Middle East to Indonesia, and from the seventh to the eighteenth centuries of the Common Era.

" تشتمل هذه الموسوعة على المجموعة الكاملة لبحوث المؤلف في مجال العمارة والآثار والفنون الاسلامية التي تم نشرها في مجلات او القاؤها في ندوات منذ سنة 1950"

A comprehensive compilation of books and articles on all aspects of Islamic art and architecture. Creswell's Bibliography is well organized and often includes detailed annotations.

Following the tradition and style of the acclaimed Index Islamicus, the editors have created this new Bibliography of Art and Architecture in the Islamic World. The editors have surveyed and, in many cases, annotated a wide range of books and articles from collected volumes and journals published in all European languages (except Turkish) between 1906 and 2011.

Important review journal, with significant art-related content. Includes reviews in French, English & Arabic.
(1984-1999), also published on CD Rom (2001-2004)

Classified annual bibliography and abstracts of books and periodical articles. Répertoire includes a section on Islamic art from 1910 until 1964. Published by Societé des amis de la bibliotheque d'art et d'archeologie de l'Universite de Paris.
Library Holdings: 1950-1964

This reference traces the development of Islamic art and architecture from the Umayyad dynasty to the present day. Readers will learn about the art of the Fatimids, Seljuqs, Mamluks, Mongols, Ottomans, Safavids, Mughals, and more. Eye-catching photographs of gorgeous mosques, delicate manuscript paintings, and colorful ceramics give readers glimpses of the works being discussed.

The book provides an unsurpassed overview of Islamic art and architecture from the seventh to the thirteenth centuries. The book focuses special attention on the development of numerous regional centers of art in Spain, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Anatolia, Iraq, and Yemen, as well as the western and northeastern provinces of Iran.

Virtually all the masterpieces of Islamic art - the Alhambra, the Taj Mahal, and the Tahmasp Shahnama - were produced during the period from the Mongol conquests in the early thirteenth century to the advent of European colonial rule in the nineteenth. This beautiful book surveys the architecture and arts of the traditional Islamic lands during this era.