Skip to main content

Tools for Public Health Users: Home

This module aims to collect, in one place, the resources/tools that public health users use quite often.

Tools for Public Health Users

Below resources can be searched to locate articles about a particular topic in the public health field:

More Resources for Public Health Users:

Remember many more resources are available, for more info all you have to do is contact us!

Below are resources that provide public-health evidence information:

If you are conducting evidence-based healthcare management research and need assistance in data collection, data analysis and writing reports, you can contact the AUB Evidence-based Healthcare Management Unit (EHMU).

Learn more about Evidence-based Public Health:

Knowledge Translation+ (KT+), provided by McMaster University’s Health Information Research Unit, provides access to current evidence on "T2" knowledge translation (ie, research addressing the knowledge to practice gap), including published original articles and systematic reviews on health care quality improvement, continuing professional education, computerized clinical decision support, health services research and patient adherence. Its purpose is to inform those working in the knowledge translation area of current research as it is published.

Quality-filtered KT Article: best evidence knowledge translation in the areas of quality improvement, continuing medical education, computerized clinical decision support, health services research and patient adherence, identified from over 130 premier clinical journals. All citations are pre-rated for quality by research staff at McMaster University and then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide practicing health professionals.

Case-based training of evidence-based clinical practice in primary care and decreased mortality in patients with coronary heart disease.
Ann Fam Med. 2011 May-Jun;9(3):211-8. doi: 10.1370/afm.1248.

Effectiveness of a citywide patient immunization navigator program on improving adolescent immunizations and preventive care visit rates.
Arch Pediatr Adolesc Med. 2011 Jun;165(6):547-53. doi: 10.1001/archpediatrics.2011.73.

Effect of tailored practice and patient care plans on secondary prevention of heart disease in general practice: cluster randomised controlled trial.
BMJ. 2009 Oct 29;339:b4220. doi: 10.1136/bmj.b4220.

Resources providing multimedia about public health topics:

A lot of the public health literature is available as grey literature that might be difficult to locate, below are some links that might help:

Public Health Grey Literature

Grey Matters! Find Grey literature: Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) provides Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial health care decision makers with credible, impartial advice and evidence-based information about the effectiveness and efficiency of drugs and other health technologies.
 
Fore more information about grey literature we recommend the systematic review guide written by SML Librarian.

Below resources give information (such as approved package inserts) about a particular drug:

  • DailyMed: the official provider of FDA label information, provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in USA
  • Micromedex

Whereas the below sites provide articles talking about a particular drug:

For Drug interactions:

For Drug Toxicity:

For Pill Identifiers:

The Quality and Safety from the below resources help preserve patient safety and implement quality improvement measures:

Global Health Observatory (GHO): this is WHO's annual world health statistics reports presenting the most recent health statistics for WHO member states.

CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research): makes the information resources of CDC available and provides access to a wide array of public health information

CDC National Center for Health Statistics: includes the National Health Interview Survey, the National Immunization Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, the National Survey of Family Growth, the National Health Care Survey, the National Employer Health Insurance Survey, the National Mortality Followback Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System consisting of the Birth Data and Mortality Data.

CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: includes links to health related resources

US Department of Health & Human Services National Institutes of Health: links to resources on Health Information, Scientific Resources, Institutes and Offices, Grants and Contracts, an alphabetical list of information on diseases, NIH research areas etc...
 
WorldBank Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics: database of Health, Nutrition and Population statistics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce, health facilities use, nutrition, etc.
 
United Nations Data: covers a wide range of themes including Crime, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Information and Population, Refugees,  as well as useful features like Country Profiles, and Glossaries.
 
For guidance/help see:

Open Access@SML: SML encourages publishing as open access and currently is a member of below open access publishers.  As a result, any AUB member who wishes to publish with these will be entitled to below designated discount on the article processing fees:

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) covers over 10,000 quality open access peer-reviewed academic journals.

Beware of open access predatory journals these are fake/scam open access journals requesting payment without providing robust editorial or publishing services; check Bealls Open Access Predatory Publishers list and the five point plan on how to avoid predatory journals by Jocalyn Clark.

Paul M. Blobaum "Blobaum’s Checklist for Review of Journal Quality for Submission of Scholarly Manuscripts", 2013.

Think, Check, Submit is a tool to help you make informed decisions on where to publish, helps researchers evaluate journals prior to submitting their work for publication. With so many publications, how can one trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to verify if you have chosen a trusted journal for publishing your research.  An interesting and alarming issue is the peer-review fraud from New England Journal of Medicine.

NOTE: Any author with an NIH grant submits his/her article to PubMedCentral (PMC) and it will appear in PubMed, irrespective in which journal it was published in. That is how some predatory publishers are advertising that they 'are indexed in PubMed'. Only journals that have a note in NLM 'Indexed for Medline' are the journals selected and evaluated by the NLM Committee.

Still need more information, then read Tennessee University guide "Is this publisher reputable?" also read Chrissy Prator "8 ways to identify a questionable open access journal"

 

 

Ten Strategies to Boost Your Research Impact:

  1. Create your unique researcher identifier and profile under which you gather all your publications to facilitate their findings and enhance visibility in the research community, to remove author ambiguity (due to variations in spellings), and to ensure your work is correctly attributed to you. Example Open Researcher Contributor ID ORCID
  2. Be consistent in writing your name, your institutional and departmental address and do not use abbreviations.
  3. List your email correctly and open it frequently.
  4. Publish in Journals that have at least one of these:

               for more information see Blobaum's checklist for submission of scholarly manuscripts

  1. Check ScopusPubMed or Web of Science to see if all your citations have correct author and affiliation address. If there are mistakes, contact us to help you correct them.
  2. Create your own researcher profile in a professional web-page and keep it up-to-date.
  3. Join academic social networking sites ex. AcademiaLinkedInResearchGateMendeleyCiteULike
  4. Participate in a professional listserv in your specialized area.
  5. Retain your right to place a copy of your publication @AUB Institutional Repository.
  6. Too much to remember? Ask US, we are here to help you!
 

Health research instruments as defined by HAPI are questionnaires, psychological tests, health status indicators, genetic test, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, inventories, rating scales, projective techniques, and vignettes/scenarios.

Below resources/guidelines help you locate health research instruments:

In addition, the below are hard-copy books available at Jafet Library:

  • Measures for clinical practice and research: a sourcebook
  • Positive psychological assessment: a handbook of models and measures
  • Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes
  • Inventories, questionnaires and surveys for training and development
  • Measures of social psychological attitudes
  • Handbook of family measurement techniques
  • Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences
  • Sourcebook of nonverbal measures

One tip is to search for articles that mention that they developed or validated a questionnaire as you don't want articles that used a method but that they describe a developed method. So in Medline AND your topic with: (questionnaire* adj10 (develop* OR validat* OR new OR descri*))

Searching for an instrument takes time as they may be published in a book, article, dissertation, websites, and may be only available by contacting person who developed it, who may or may not respond to your request.  Some journal articles make the full-text of the instrument available as an appendix.

If you want to publish the actual instrument or use the instrument in your research, you should contact the copyright holder to obtain permission to use it yourself - even if the instrument was available for free - but if you are only going to write about it, then no need for copyright permission.

For more information see the Washington University Libguide on measurement tools

Qualitative research seeks to understand and interpret personal experiences, behaviours, interactions, and social contexts to explain the phenomena of interest, such as the attitudes, beliefs, and perspectives of patients and clinicians; the interpersonal nature of caregiver and patient relationships; the illness experience; or the impact of human suffering (Wong et al, 2004).

Tools to help find Qualitative Research Articles:

  • Health Services Research: from PubMed, type in topic keywords then select category such as "qualitative research".
  • PubMed: use the MeSHes "qualitative research" and "nursing methodology research" AND them with the topic keywords.
  • CINAHL: use subjects like "qualitative studies" or "phenomenological research" and "grounded theory".  Also at the bottom of CINAHL page select "qualitative best" as a "clinical query".

Search filters for qualitative research:

For more information:

AUB subscribes to the below 2 citation analysis tools that cover a wide range of the international scientific literature

including medicine and medical sciences.  These can be used either as a search engine to retrieve articles about

a particular topic or to locate where, when and how many times a particular author/citation was cited in the scholarly literature:

  • Scopus: covers around 21,000 peer reviewed journals
  • Web of Science: covers over 20,660 peer reviewed journals in addition to books, patents and conference proceedings

Contact us for more information on how to best search these resources.

SML Librarian can help you stay up-to-date by receiving automatic email alerts in any of the below:

  • particular journal(s)
  • particular topic of interest
  • alerts to see who have cited one of your paper(s)
  • alerts about recent EBM documents in your specialty
  • medicines and prescribing awareness alerts

If you are interested in any of the above, contact us.

Citation Management Tools: AUB Libraries subscribe to below two citation management tools that require free registration at the start and provide detailed help for effective use:

You are encouraged to visit the complete ABC guide on how to manage your references from the most important Medical, Nursing, and Public Health databases using Refworks, Endnote Web & Endnote Client.

Other similar tools are available on the Internet for free to all users such as:

Should you need help in using any of these, contact us.

SML Librarians are professional people that are knowledgeable and available to help/support your information needs, so do not hesitate to ask us!

Help is available through:

Loading