Skip to main content

Citing your references: Refworks

An ABC guide for different Medical, Nursing, and Public Health database on how to export references into the different citation management tools: Refworks, Endnote Web & Endnote Client.

CINAHL

  1. Select references by clicking on the "Add" folders to the right of the individual references

  1. Click on “Share” button next to the count of Search Results
  2. Select “Export results"
  3. Select E-mail a link to download exported results (up to …)

  1. Type in your email and select the citation if the file that you will receive to be:RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)

  1. Click on "Continue"

  1. Open your email, click on the link provided

 

  1. Click on "Save as"

  1. Upon clicking on the zipped file, you will find the saved file in the following form

Import your saved references into RefWorks

 

  1. Sign in to Reworks:
  2. Click on “References”, then “Import

  1. Under From Text File, chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8

  1. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  2. Click “Import”  or Press “Enter


OR

 

  1. Sign in to Reworks:
  2. Click on “References”, then “Import

  1. Under From Text, chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Browse for the saved file, copy its content
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8

  1. Paste the content into the text box
  2. Click “Import”  or Press “Enter

Cochrane

  1. Select “Export Selected/Export All”
  2. Save the file to be able to browse it later

Import your saved references into RefWorks

Under From Text File

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : Cochrane Library
  2. Chose “Database” to be: Wiley InterSciense
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: Unicode
  5. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  6. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Under From Text

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : Cochrane Library
  2. Chose “Database” to be: Wiley InterScience
  3. Copy the text from the saved file and paste it in the box provided
  4. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  5. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

ERIC

1.  Select the titles that are to be exported

2.  Select “RIS (Refworks, Endnote)"” from the Export/Save drop Down Menu

3.  Click “Continue”/Press “Enter

4.  Results are automatically and directly exported to Refworks in “Last Imported” file

Google Scholar

  1. Conduct your search
  2. Next to My Citations Button, there is an arrow down button, click there
  3. Choose “Settings”
  4. Under “Bibliography Manager”, click on Show links to import citations into…
  5. Choose “Refworks”
  6. Click “Save"


     
  7. You can save the articles you like under “My Library” after signing in through your gmail username and password


     
  8. Click on each resource “Import to Refworks”
  9. Results are automatically and directly exported to Refworks in “Last Imported” file
  10. Sign in to Reworks:
  11. Click on “References”, then “Import"


  12. Under From Text, chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  13. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  14. Browse for the saved file, copy its content
  15. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8

Global Health Library

  1. Select the titles that are to be export
  2. Click on “Send Result” button
  3. Choose “Export”

      4.   Choose the Export Format to be “RIS (for Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote, etc)

            5.  Save the file into a specific folder

Import your saved references into RefWorks

Under From Text File

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8
  5. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  6. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Under From Text

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Copy the text from the saved file and paste it in the box provided
  4. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  5. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Medline (Ovid)

  1. Select the titles that are to be exported after performing your search strategy
  2. Click on Export
  3. Select Refworks
  4. Click Export Citations

      5. A new window opens, click on the link and Refworks opens with an imported window showing…(The Export was   direct/automatic)

Popline

  1. After performing the search, under Export Search Results, click on “RIS’
  2. Save the file into a specific location

Import your saved references into RefWorks

Under From Text File

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8
  5. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  6. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Under From Text

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : RIS Format
  2. Chose “Database” to be: RIS Format UTF-8
  3. Copy the text from the saved file and paste it in the box provided
  4. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  5. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

PsycInfo

  1. Select references by clicking on the "Add" folders to the right of the individual references.

  2. Click on “Share” button next to the count of Search Results

       3.  Select “Export results: and click on

       4.  Select "Direct Export to Refwork"

     

     5. Results are automatically and directly exported to Refworks in “Last Imported” file

Pubmed

When conducting your search,

  1. Click on Select boxes  next to titles that are to be exported

       2.  Select from Summary “Medline”

       3.  Click “File” then “Save As”  select file format to be “.txt”

Import your saved references into RefWorks

Under From Text File

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : NLM PubMed
  2. Chose “Database” to be: PubMed
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8
  5. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  6. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Under From Text

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : NLM PubMed
  2. Chose “Database” to be: PubMed
  3. Copy the text from the saved file and paste it in the box provided
  4. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  5. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Scopus

When performing your search,

  1. Click on Select boxes  next to titles that are to be exported
  2. Click on Dropdown button “Export”
  3. Select “Refworks direct expert”
  4. Click on “Export” button/ Press “Enter

Web of Science

When performing your search,

  1. Click on Select boxes  next to titles that are to be exported
  2. Select “Save to EndNote Online” drop down menu
  3. Select “Save to Other Formats"

        4.  Select “Plain Text” and save the text

         5.  Save the file into a specific location

Import your saved references into RefWorks

Under From Text File

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : Thomson Reuters
  2. Chose “Database” to be: Web of Science
  3. Browse for the saved file
  4. Select “Encoding” to be: UTF-8
  5. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  6. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter”

Under From Text

  1. Chose “Import Filter/Data Source” to be : Thomson Reuters
  2. Chose “Database” to be: Web of Science
  3. Copy the text from the saved file and paste it in the box provided
  4. Select the file that you want the latter references to be stored in
  5. Click “Import”/ Press “Enter

Endnote web

  1. Select “References”, then “Export”
     

  2. Click Export with choosing the Export format to be Refworks direct Export


     
  3. Click “Export”
  4. Chose “Submit to Refworks”
  5. Click “Continue”
  6. Results are automatically and directly exported to Refworks in “Last Imported” file

Endnote Client

  1. Select “References”, then “Export”

 

  1. Select “Bibliographic Software (Endnote, Reference Manager, Procite)

3-Click “Export References”

  1. Save the File to be imported in Endnote Web/ Endnote Client Later.

Import your saved references into Endnote Client

1. Click “File”→”Import”→”File”

2. Select the Import Option to be “Refman (RIS)”

3. Select the folder you want the references to be imported to

4. Click “Import”/Press “Enter”

Search All

ONLY when the research paper is written and the references are known and used and you are not to redo the search strategy again

  1. Type in the name of the article that you already used in your research in “Search All” tab



     
  2. Click on to the correct record



     
  3. Do the same for the rest of the articles
  4. The records will be saved



     

    PS: This is a temporary link, all what you saved into this folder might be lost after half an hour if not used (if you are not in Search All page)

  5. Click on Saved items


     
  6. Select from the Dropdown Menu “Refworks”


     
  7. Results are automatically and directly exported to Refworks in “Last Imported” file.