Skip to main content

EndNote: Export from Databases

This guide provides basic information on using EndNote (citation management tool)

Direct Export

Many databases allow you to directly export  search results into your EndNote Library. 

Japanese export text

How to know if a database provide direct export to EndNote?

Generally, these databases display terms such as Direct export, Export, Export to citation manager, Export to bibliographic manager, etc.

Always check that your records have been imported correctly.

For direct export features to work properly use:

  • Firefox, Internet Explorer or Google Chrome on PC/Widows.
     
  • FireFox or Google Chrome on Mac.

Export Using Library Databases

http://www.chariton.lib.ia.us/images/ebscohostlogo/imageEBSCOhost Databases such as: Academic Search Complete, Agricola, Art Full text, Business Source Complete, CINAHL Full Text, Education Research Complete, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, and Middle Eastern and Central Asia Studies allows direct export. 

  1. Conduct your search
  2. Select records by clicking on the Folder icon
  3. Click on Folder or Folder View
  4. Check the box next to select/deselect all
  5. Click the Export button
  6. Select the button for Direct Export to EndNote    
  7. Click on Save 
  1. Conduct your search and Select needed records 
  2. Click Export/Save 
  3. Select from the drop down menu EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager
  4. Click on Continue
  5. When asked to save or open the file,
    • For direct export select Open, choose Export to EndNote, and click OK 
    • For indirect export click Save and save your file.
      In EndNote, go to the File menu, select Import/File, click on Choose to select your saved file, go to Import Options and select Reference manager (RIS), and click Open
  6. Records are imported directly and will appear in your EndNote Library      

        http://www.jstor.org/assets/global_20171016T1032/build/images/jstor-logo@2x.png1. Conduct your search 
        2. Select the records you want to export
        3. Go to Citation Tools and click on Export
        4. Choose the RIS file type = RIS file (EndNote, Procite, Reference Manager)
       
5. Select Open

  • Internet Explorer: References will appear in the Imported References folder in EndNote
  • FireFox: Select Open with ResearchSoft Direct HelperIn Choose Destination select Export to EndNote, and click OK

           

 

  1. Conduct your search http://www.cmrdi.sci.eg/images/ScienceDirect%20text%20logo.JPG
  2. Select the references you want to export
  3. Go to Export on the top of the results list
  4. Click on the triangle on the right side of the Export button 
  5. Go to Format and choose RIS (for EndNote, Reference Manager, Procite) 
  6. Go to Content and choose Citations and abstracts
  7. Click on Export
  8. Click on Open

Log-in to PubMed and follow Instructionshttp://prehospitalresearch.eu/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/pubmedimage1.jpg

 1. Conduct your search
 2. Select the references you want to export
 3.
On the search result page, go to Send to and select Citation Manager
 
4.
Click on Create File

  • Internet Explorer: References will appear in the Imported References folder in EndNoteX7
  • FireFox: Select Open with ResearchSoft Direct HelperIn Choose Destination select Export to EndNote, and click OK 
  • Google Chrome: Select Save, save the file as .nbib, double click the saved .nbib file 

1. Conduct your search https://www.elsevier.com/__data/assets/image/0004/98887/ScopusR_Wmk_151_RGB.png
2. Select the references you want to export
3. Click on Export on the top of the results list
4. Choose your file type: RIS Format (EndNote, Reference Manager)
5. Go to Choose the information to export & select 
Citations and abstract information 
6. Click on Export
7. Click on Open
  

Loading ...