Use the Library Catalog to find books and other materials.
Concise Encyclopedia of Traffic and Transportation Systems by
The vast expansion of transportation systems on land, sea and in the air throughout the twentieth century has allowed for the development of economic, social and political connections across the globe undreamed of by our ancestors. However, this expansion has brought with it familiar problems such as airport delays and gridlock in our major cities. Fortunately, parallel progress in system science and information technology can provide us with the appropriate tools for rational and efficient solutions to our exponentially increasing transportation demands. This encyclopedia addresses the analysis, modelling and control of today's and tomorrow's traffic and transportation systems in a concise, comprehensive single volume. Well over 100 articles have been specially commissioned, or revised from the acclaimed Systems & Control Encyclopedia, to provide an overview of and first reference to models, control methods and practical aspects of all forms of traffic and transportation systems with a particular emphasis on efficient utilization of available infrastructure, plus a consideration of their historical, organizational, economic and social impacts. The Concise Encyclopedia of Traffic & Transportation Systems will be essential for professional and academic scientists and engineers in any discipline concerned with the movement of people and materials.
HCM 2010 : highway capacity manual
The Routledge Handbook of Transportation by
The Routledge Handbook of Transportation offers a current and comprehensive survey of transportation planning and engineering research. It provides a step-by-step introduction to research related to traffic engineering and control, transportation planning, and performance measurement and evaluation of transportation alternatives. The Handbook of Transportation demonstrates models and methods for predicting travel and freight demand, planning future transportation networks, and developing traffic control systems. Readers will learn how to use various engineering concepts and approaches to make future transportation safer, more efficient, and more sustainable. Edited by Dusan Teodorovic and featuring 29 chapters from more than 50 leading global experts, with more than 200 illustrations, the Routledge Handbook of Transportation is designed as an invaluable resource for professionals and students in transportation planning and engineering.
Trip Generation
Handbook of Transportation Science by
Over the past thirty-five years, a substantial amount of theoretical and empirical scholarly research has been developed across the discipline domains of Transportation. This research has been synthesized into a systematic handbook that examines the scientific concepts, methods, and principles of this growing and evolving field. The Handbook of Transportation Science outlines the field of transportation as a scientific discipline that transcends transportation technology and methods. Whether by car, truck, airplane - or by a mode of transportation that has not yet been conceived - transportation obeys fundamental properties. The science of transportation defines these properties, and demonstrates how our knowledge of one mode of transportation can be used to explain the behavior of another. Transportation scientists are motivated by the desire to explain spatial interactions that result in movement of people or objects from place to place. Its methodologies draw from physics, operations research, probability and control theory.
Handbook of Transportation Engineering by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive transportation engineering resource--fully revised and updated The two-volume Handbook of Transportation Engineering, Second Edition offers practical, comprehensive coverage of the entire transportation engineering field. Featuring 18 new chapters and contributions from nearly 70 leading experts, this authoritative work discusses all types of transportation systems--freight, passenger, air, rail, road, marine, and pipeline--and provides problem-solving engineering, planning, and design tools and techniques with examples of successful applications. Volume I focuses on transportation networks and systems, operations, and economics. VOLUME I COVERS: National transportation networks and inter-modal systems Transportation network planning: theoretical notions Reliability of travel times and robustness of transport networks Transportation systems modeling and evaluation Software systems and simulation for transportation applications Applications of GIS in transportation Travel demand forecasting Transportation and land use Sustainable transportation practice Transportation planning and modeling Transportation economics Innovative information technology applications in public transportation Parking management Management of transportation organizations Trucking operations The economics of railroad operations: resurgence of a declining industry Airline management and operations The marine transportation system Global logistics Freight transportation planning
Transportation Planning Handbook by
A multi-disciplinary approach to transportation planningfundamentals The Transportation Planning Handbook is a comprehensive,practice-oriented reference that presents the fundamental conceptsof transportation planning alongside proven techniques. This newfourth edition is more strongly focused on serving the needs of allusers, the role of safety in the planning process, andtransportation planning in the context of societal concerns,including the development of more sustainable transportationsolutions. The content structure has been redesigned with a newformat that promotes a more functionally driven multimodal approachto planning, design, and implementation, including guidance towardthe latest tools and technology. The material has been updated toreflect the latest changes to major transportation resources suchas the HCM, MUTCD, HSM, and more, including the most current ADAaccessibility regulations. Transportation planning has historically followed the rationalplanning model of defining objectives, identifying problems,generating and evaluating alternatives, and developing plans.Planners are increasingly expected to adopt a moremulti-disciplinary approach, especially in light of the risingimportance of sustainability and environmental concerns. This bookpresents the fundamentals of transportation planning in amultidisciplinary context, giving readers a practical reference forday-to-day answers. Serve the needs of all users Incorporate safety into the planning process Examine the latest transportation planning softwarepackages Get up to date on the latest standards, recommendations, andcodes Developed by The Institute of Transportation Engineers, thisbook is the culmination of over seventy years of transportationplanning solutions, fully updated to reflect the needs of achanging society. For a comprehensive guide with practical answers,The Transportation Planning Handbook is an essentialreference.
A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets
Automotive safety handbook
Examining the state-of-the-art in passenger car vehicle safety, the book features thorough discussion of the interrelationships among the occupant, the vehicle, and the restraint system
