LibGuides: American Studies: Articles

SearchAll One Stop Search

Use SearchALL to find articles, books, conference papers, reference & more in one search. Use the limit frature in the search results page to refine your search.

Google Scholar

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to find articles in a particular journal:

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication (See Search Techniques).

Start your search using Subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage. In most databases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Subject Databases

A selection of databases covering American Studies, more is found in Databases on the University Libraries homepage.

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window Collection of digitized images of the pages of over 1,000 American magazines and journals published from 1740 to 1940 on various topics. The collection contains labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles. Contents include America's first scientific journal, medical repository, popular magazines, and professional journals. Availability: Full-text images Data Coverage: 1740-1940

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1665 to present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary - Excellent for citiation searching. The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources including conference proceedings and patent records. Covers 3,500 Arts and Humanities titles starting and including Project Muse titles starting 1990-present. Citation search starts 1996-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary - Excellent for citiation searching. A large multidisciplinary database. It provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals including open access journals. It include Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1100 journals from 1975- . ISI Web of Knowledge. 1898-

Directories

Directory of American Studies Journals

American Studies: Articles