This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of American Studies and it links to relevant web resources. Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.
ACLS Humanities E-BookThis link opens in a new windowA digital collection of over 5,400 high quality e-books in the humanities and related social sciences, including art, film & media studies, history, literature, philosophy, religion, and women studies. These titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: Varies
Cambridge Histories onlineThis link opens in a new windowAn e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts.
Availability: Full-text
Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
HathiTrust Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFor books with Temporary Access please click on Temporary Access then on Check out.
HathiTrust is a digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services to materials digitized by Google Books, the Internet Archives, Microsoft, and top-ranked university libraries. It includes reference works, books, government documents, maps, manuscripts, photos, journals, newspapers, and other published and unpublished materials.
Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1200 to present
Taylor & Francis eBooksThis link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Availability: full-text
Date Coverage: Varies
Index to universities digital collections and most collections available on the internet: Gutenberg, Batleby, Bibliomania, Questia ...Especially strong in humanities and social sciences. Includes free and fee-based content.
Guntenburg ProjectProject Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.
