Skip to main content

HathiTrust Guide: Home

This is a quick guide for students and faculty members who are interested in searching the HathiTrust digital library, building their own collections, as well as viewing and downloading PDFs.

What is HathiTrust?

Launched in 2008, HathiTrust is an international partnership of academic and research institutions working together to ensure the long-term preservation and accessibility of the cultural record. 

It comprises more than 80 partners who have added to the repository more than 11 million volumes that were digitized from their library collections as well as materials from Internet Archives and Google Books.


As of January 2015, HathiTrust  library includes
13,072,477 total volumes out of which ~37% are in the public domain. 

Currently Digitized Statistics are updated daily. 

Search the HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

HathiTrust allows you to do the following:

  • Search full-text of all volumes
  • View full-text of vols. in the public domain (published before 1923)
  • Download single-page PDFs of volumes in the public domain
  • Limit your search to items held by AUB Libraries
  • Search within collections

However, you need to log-in using your AUBNet account to download  full-text PDFs that are in the public domain and create your own collections. 

Log-in Instructions

  • Go to HathiTrust home page
  • Click on the yellow LOG-IN button at the top right side of the page
  • Choose 'American University of Beirut' from the drop down menu of partner Institution then click Continue
  • Sign-in using your AUBNet Account (username and password)

The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects.

Partnership With AUB

In September 2014, AUB started its partnership with HathiTrust.

This partnership grants AUB users access a large number of digitized scholarly books and journals from many top-ranked university libraries such as Cornell University, Stanford University, and the University of Michigan.

Log-in to download full-text PDFs that are in the public domain.

Have Questions! Need Help!

Confused about Logging-in, searching, downloading, etc.
 

Ask a Librarian

Chat is online